VVTP Theater of the Year Award

Since 2010, the VVTP awards one theater with the Theater of the Year Award. This theater, ranking highest according to the criteria of the VVTP, takes home the unique theater chair by Carla Janssen-Höfelt.

All members of the VVTP are asked annually to, together with their actors, technicians, production managers, and office employees, to evaluate Dutch theaters. The theaters will be assessed on account of the functioning of their publicity department, financial department, technicians, but also on more subjective criteria like hospitality and involvement with actors and the theater trade. Love and passion for the theater combined with high quality and professionalism are central in this evaluation.

VVTP-members also analyze the functionality and ‘look and feel’ of the website of the theater and the building, the quality of the reception of guests, customer-friendliness, processes regarding finances, etc.

Theaters cannot register for the Theater of the Year Award themselves. The VVTP takes all Dutch theaters in consideration in the evaluation process.

Winners VVTP Theater of the Year Award
2014: Parktheater, Eindhoven
2013: Zaantheater, Zaandam
2012: Schouwburg Amphion, Doetinchem
2011: Goudse Schouwburg, Gouda
2010: Luxor Theater, Rotterdam

Nominations VVTP Theater of the Year Award
2014: Theater De Meervaart, Amsterdam | Chassé Theater, Breda | Parktheater, Eindhoven | De Oosterpoort & Stadsschouwburg Groningen | Schouwburg Het Park, Hoorn | Rijswijkse Schouwburg | Luxor Theater, Rotterdam

2013: Schouwburg Amphion, Doetinchem | Parktheater, Eindhoven | Goudse Schouwburg, Gouda | Haarlemse Schouwburg | Rijswijkse Schouwburg | Zaantheater, Zaandam | Odeon De Spiegel, Zwolle

2012: Schouwburg Amphion, Doetinchem | Theater Diligentia, Den Haag | Parktheater, Eindhoven | Zaantheater, Zaandam | Rijswijkse Schouwburg

2011: Schouwburg Amphion, Doetinchem | Theater Diligentia, Den Haag | Goudse Schouwburg, Gouda | Parktheater, Eindhoven | Zaantheater, Zaandam

2010: Chassé Theater, Breda | Goudse Schouwburg, Gouda | Koninklijke Schouwburg Den Haag | Luxor Theater, Rotterdam | Oosterpoort / Stadsschouwburg Groningen

VVTP Theater of the Year Award